Петр

Маленькое чудо с большим результатом

На самом деле, я могу уместить свою историю в три предложения. Я плохо слышал много лет. Внезапно я совершенно оглох и больше ничего не слышал. Я перенес операцию и снова слышу благодаря техническому чуду от компании MED-EL.

Меня зовут Петр, я родился в 1955 году в Чехословакии и вырос там. Я живу в Германии вот уже 20 лет. Я женат и у меня двое детей. По специальности я экономист.
 

Когда мне было 25, я оглох на левое ухо. Мне поставили диагноз – болезнь Меньера. К счастью, правое ухо у меня продолжало хорошо слышать. Я общался с очень многими людьми за рубежом. Благодаря тому, что я владею шестью языками, я смог продолжить свою работу – переводы для клиентов по телефону. Мне очень нравится путешествовать и общаться с людьми.

Когда мне исполнилось 50, слух с правой стороны стал тоже ухудшаться. Затем в 2007 году произошло роковое событие. Я внезапно и полностью оглох дважды за один месяц. Я больше не мог работать. В больнице я впервые услышал о кохлеарных имплантах. Я был готов на все, чтобы снова слышать, и после некоторых раздумий я выбрал компанию MED-EL.

В течение следующих месяцев я прошел множество предварительных проверок и перенес первую операцию без каких-либо осложнений. Первичная настройка прошла также без проблем. Так как период глухоты до имплантации был весьма непродолжительным, я смог довольно хорошо слышать уже в первый день после включения речевого процессора OPUS 2. Затем несколько месяцев я интенсивно тренировал слух и несколько раз посещал аудиолога для поднастройки импланта. КИ работал безукоризненно. Вскоре я смог вернуться к своей работе. Прошел всего год, и я очень доволен работой моих “новых ушей”. Большая команда специалистов помогла мне вернуться в мир слышащих. Я очень благодарен каждому члену этой команды в отдельности.

Я до сих пор в восторге от процессора OPUS 2. Такой маленький электронный прибор – и такой грандиозный результат! Эту технологию разработали люди, которые сами слышат очень хорошо и могут помочь тем, кто не слышит.

Моя повседневная жизнь продолжается, в основном, в привычном ключе. Я могу воспринимать мир вокруг себя, могу общаться с семьей и коллегами, а также с новыми людьми на разных языках. Я могу разговаривать по телефону и смотреть телевизор без субтитров.

Для людей, потерявших слух, услышать впервые с помощью кохлеарного импланта – незабываемый опыт. И не важно, назовете вы это “zázrak“ по-чешски или “Wunder” по-немецки. Это просто чудо.

© 2017 MED-EL

We are using first- and third-party cookies which enable us to enhance site navigation, analyse site usage, and assist in our marketing efforts. Please click on 'Accept' to agree to the usage of cookies and hide this message permanently. You can find a list and description of the cookies used in our Cookie Policy.

Petr

A little miracle with a big effect

Actually, it is possible for me to sum up my story in three sentences: I heard well for many years. Suddenly I was completely deaf and couldn’t hear anything. I had an operation and hear again, thanks to a technical miracle from the company MED−EL.

My name is Petr, I was born in 1955 in Czechoslovakia where I grew up. I have lived in Germany for over 20 years. I am married and have two children. I am an economist.

When I was 25 years old, I became deaf in my left ear. The diagnosis was Menière's disease. Luckily my right ear still worked well. I had so many contacts to people in other countries, and thanks to my being multilingual in six languages, I was able to continue my work as a translator with customers over the telephone. I really enjoy travelling and love to be in contact with people.

When I turned 50, my hearing on the right side began to deteriorate. Then in 2007, fate came knocking. I lost my hearing suddenly and completely two times in the same month. My job was suddenly no longer possible. At the hospital, I heard about cochlear implants for the first time. I was willing to do anything to hear again and after some research, I chose the company MED−EL.

Within the following months, I underwent many pre-tests followed by my first operation which was without complications. My first fitting was just as uncomplicated. Because there was only a short period of deafness preceding implantation, I was able to hear quite well the first day that my OPUS 2 was turned on. The next few months included intensive hearing training and as well as a number of visits to my audiologist for adjustments. The CI worked without any problems. Shortly afterwards I was able to return to my old job. Barely a year has passed and I am quite satisfied with my “new ears.” A large team of specialist allowed me to return to the hearing world again. To all of these individuals, I am really thankful.

I am still fascinated by my OPUS 2 processor. Such a small piece of electronics with such a large effect! This technology comes from people who themselves hear so well and really are able to help those of us who do not.

My day-to-day life continues much as it used to. I can perceive the environment around me, I can communicate with my family and co-workers as well as with new people in different languages. I can speak on the phone and I can watch television without subtitles.

For people with a hearing loss, it is an unforgetable experience to hear for the first time with a cochlear implant. It doesn’t matter if you say “zázrak“ in Czech or “Wunder” in German. It is simply a miracle.

© 2017 MED-EL

We are using first- and third-party cookies which enable us to enhance site navigation, analyse site usage, and assist in our marketing efforts. Please click on 'Accept' to agree to the usage of cookies and hide this message permanently. You can find a list and description of the cookies used in our Cookie Policy.