Anesthésie et implantation cochléaire
par anesthésiste Dr. Roman German

Prendre la décision de se faire poser un implant cochléaire est une décision importante et peut améliorer considérablement la qualité de vie. Dans le monde entier, des centaines de milliers de personnes ont un implant auditif, des bébés de quelques mois comme des adultes de plus de 90 ans.

Il est parfaitement compréhensible que les candidats à une implantation cochléaire hésitent, à cause de l'intervention chirurgicale et de l'anesthésie générale. Pour dissiper la crainte de l'anesthésie générale, il est bon de savoir ceci :

L'implantation est une intervention mini-invasive courante. Pour mettre en place l'implant, le chirurgien utilise un microscope qui lui permet d'introduire l'électrode flexible dans la cochlée en douceur. L'intervention ne dure normalement qu'entre une et deux heures. Elle est généralement réalisée sous anesthésie générale.

Grâce aux méthodes modernes d'anesthésie générale associée à l'administration de médicaments sûrs et agissant rapidement, l'anesthésie générale est maintenant nettement mieux supportée. Aujourd'hui, les patients s'endorment plus vite et se réveillent aussi plus rapidement après l'opération.

Ces améliorations ont permis de réduire de manière significative le risque lié à l'anesthésie générale. Cela est particulièrement important pour les personnes d'un certain âge et les patients ayant en plus d'autres problèmes de santé. Il est cependant indispensable de faire un bilan de santé avant l'implantation. 

Avant, pendant et après l'opération, le patient est surveillé en permanence par l'anesthésiste, qui veille à sa sécurité et à ce que son état soit le plus stable possible.

« Grâce aux méthodes modernes d'anesthésie et à la prise en charge par des anesthésistes attentionnés, le risque lié à l'anesthésie générale pendant une implantation cochléaire est minime, même pour les personnes d'un certain âge. La crainte de l'anesthésie générale ne devrait dissuader personne, quel que soit son âge, de bénéficier des avantages d'une implantation cochléaire et d'une meilleure qualité de vie qui en résulte. » Dr. Roman German

Dr. Roman German, Anaesthesiologist
Agaplesion Bethanien Clinic
Frankfurt am Main, Allemagne

© 2019 MED-EL

We are using first- and third-party cookies which enable us to enhance site navigation, analyse site usage, and assist in our marketing efforts. Please click on 'Accept' to agree to the usage of cookies and hide this message permanently. You can find a list and description of the cookies used in our Cookie Policy.

Anaesthesia and Cochlear Implants
by Anaesthesiologist Dr. Roman German

Receiving a cochlear implant is an important decision that is able to significantly improve quality of life. Hundreds of thousands of individuals around the world have received hearing implants, from children less than one year old to adults more than 90 years old.

Understandably, candidates may have concerns regarding the implantation procedure and the use of anaesthesia. To alleviate any anxiety about anaesthesia, please keep the following in mind:

The implantation is a routine surgical procedure that utilizes minimally invasive techniques. During cochlear implant surgery, the middle ear is accessed under a microscope to allow the surgeon to gently insert a flexible electrode into the cochlear. This surgery usually lasts approximately 1 to 2 hours. For this common surgery, a general anaesthesia is usually chosen.

Modern methods of anaesthesia, in combination with safe and rapidly effective medication have significantly improved the tolerance of general anaesthesia in the past years. Thanks to these improved methods, patients fall asleep faster and wake up much more easily after surgery.

With these methods, the potential risks of anaesthesia have been greatly reduced. This is of special importance for older adults or patients with certain health conditions. However, it is important to remember that additional health issues should be addressed before the surgery. 

Before, during, and after surgery, the patient is continuously attended to and monitored by the responsible anaesthesiologist to ensure the utmost safety and security.

Thanks to modern methods and the care of dedicated anaesthesiologists, the risks associated with general anaesthesia during cochlear implantation are minimal, even for older adults. Concerns about anaesthesia should not prevent candidates of any age from experiencing all of the benefits and improved quality of life of a cochlear implant. Dr. Roman German

Dr. Roman German, Anaesthesiologist
Agaplesion Bethanien Clinic
Frankfurt am Main, Germany

© 2017 MED-EL